Free eBooks on Android

I live on a budget. A pretty tight one, if I’m being honest. Growing up my parents bought me almost all the books I could want, so one of the biggest adjustments I’ve had to make as an adult is not just buying books all the time.

So I’ve found other ways to get books. Like many people, I joined a library. I always ask for gift cards to book stores for my birthday and Christmas. But I’m always on the lookout for new ideas. When my husband first told me about the app I’m about to share with you, my brain said immediately, “FREE BOOKS!!!”.

Google-Opinion-Rewards-630x354

The app, available on all Android devices, is called Google Opinion Rewards. It’s free, and you sign in using your Google account.

Google Opinion Rewards is essentially a survey app. Google will send you surveys based on your recent location or browsing history. The surveys are usually 3-5 questions long and take no more than 30 seconds to complete. When you are finished with the survey the app credits your Google Play account money. Typically surveys are worth small amounts, 10 or 15 cents. But over time it adds up.

Now these credits can ONLY be spent in the Google Play Store. I believe they can also be used for in-app purchases, though I’ve never used it that way. The Google Play store works just like the iTunes store or the Kindle store in that they have a wide selection of books, movies, and music.

I save my play credits until I have enough to buy an eBook that I’ve been waiting to read. It can take a while, but hey, a free book is a free book, right? I’m currently reading The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan, which I purchased this way.

Tips:

  1. Be sure to activate location settings on your phone. Google LOVES to know when you go shopping, and questions about your shopping experience pay well.
  2. By turning on the app’s access to your location, browsing history, etc., Google will activate more surveys for you to answer, especially higher paying ones.
  3. Answer survey’s quickly when they become available causes the app to send you surveys more often.
  4. Turn on notifications. So you know when it’s time to open the app. Duh.
  5. Be honest! A survey doesn’t pay more if you say “yes” to things.

Happy book hunting!

Leave a Reply

