Top 5 Literary Man Crushes

It’s Man Crush Monday!

Okay, first of all, this was hard for me. I am a married woman and I’ve been with my husband since I was 18, so it has been a long time since I thought about other men romantically! I love my husband, and I wouldn’t trade him for anyone. No, not even for Mr. Darcy. So I had to think back a ways. Prepare to see a lot of the classics.

1. Fitzwilliam Darcy
Untitled
I know, I know, it’s cliche. But there’s a reason everyone loves Mr. Darcy. He’s charming, he’s got the strong silent type thing going, and we all identify as Elizabeth Bennett. However, I think the reason we really love Mr. Darcy is that, deep down, we honestly believe we can change our man. If there’s something we don’t like about him we think: “If I stick with him, I can fix him. Then everything will be amazing.” Even when it’s not true, we cling to that belief. But Mr. Darcy does change. When Elizabeth points out what an arrogant jerk he is, he looks down deep and recognizes his own shortcomings. Then he goes and changes them, becoming a better person and winning her love. And THAT is why we love him.

2. Prince Char
ella_enchanted_by_burdge_bug
I grew up reading Ella Enchanted and imagining a man like Char. He is funny, he is caring, he is sensitive, he is strong, and he is intelligent. Char is a prince who doesn’t resent his crown, but who doesn’t let it turn him into a snob either. And he is willing to be a friend. That’s important.

3. Sir Percy Blakeney 
love the Scarlet Pimpernel! (IF YOU HAVEN’T READ IT, STOP READING RIGHT NOW AND SKIP TO #4. SPOILERS. THEN GO BUY IT OR BORROW IT AND START READING. THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITES AND YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!)

Percy and Marguerite’s romance gets my heart fluttering. I love how deeply and profoundly Percy loves Marguerite. Unconditional love. He has the confidence in her to really see and believe when she changes to become a better woman, and forgives the unforgivable. Then he puts his life in danger to save her brother. And when they kiss at the end… *swoon*

4. Peeta Mellark
tumblr_o9av7o40MU1s0ti8uo1_500.gif
I am definitely on Team Peeta. That there even was a Team Gale was a little confusing to me. The way Peeta like Katniss, but never tells her. The way he is willing to give anything to protect her. He sees her flaws, but he loves her anyway. And as a musician, there is something so romantic to me about the way he fell in love with her singing voice.

5. Edward Rochester
This is a weird one, because Mr. Rochester is not really lovable. But Jane Eyre is so well written, I see him through her eyes. And Jane loves Mr. Rochester very deeply. I can’t help but love him too.

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Literary Man Crushes

Leave a Reply

