Review: The Last Star

51CC+o3cfQL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_The Last Star by Rick Yancey

Series: The 5th Wave
Genres: Science Fiction, Action/Adventure, Young Adult
Maturity Level: 5
View on Goodreads
Rating: ⋆⋆⋆


They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.


Someone on bookstagram last night, not knowing about this looming book review, casually asked “So what did you think?” And I sat there with my fingers hovering over the screen of my phone, stumped. Eventually I wrote, “Undetermined.”

I don’t know how I feel about The Last StarLike all the books in this series, it was fabulously written. Yancey’s reflections on what it means to be human were profound, which was so cool to read in a YA novel. More so than the other two books, the question of faith is brought up a few times. And awesomest of all, I think this was an extremely accurate portrayal of what humans will probably be like as we near the end of the world.

But the ending is what really has me stumped.

You like for a series to end in a way that is consistent with the rest of the series, but still a little surprising, and you definitely want the ending to be satisfying. The Last Star’s ending was definitely consistent. The more I think about it, it’s really the only way it COULD have ended once The Last Sea took us way off the beaten path. But the ending wasn’t really satisfying. While I maybe didn’t expect to have warm, gushy, happily-ever-after feelings, all the deaths left me with a bad taste in my mouth. Especially the major one.

So, yeah. I’m not sure whether I liked it. My feelings are mostly confused. I certainly didn’t enjoy either The Last Star or The Infinite Sea nearly as much as I did The 5th Wave. So that’s why I went with three stars.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Last Star

  1. Eugh, it’s awful when the ending of a book isn’t satisfying. Is the last book in the series or is there more to come? Hopefully if there’s another book in the series it’ll redeem itself!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

