Review: Landline

18081809Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Genres: Fiction, Women’s Fiction/Chick Lit
Maturity Level: 4
View on Goodreads
Rating: ⋆⋆⋆⋆⋆


Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble; it has been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems beside the point now.

Maybe that was always beside the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts…

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?


When I signed up for Goodreads, Landline was the first book I added to my To-Read shelf that I didn’t have a physical copy of. And then it just sat there for several years at the top of my shelf. I just never got around to it. Honestly, I didn’t even realize it was a Rainbow Rowell book until I followed her on Twitter and saw it in her bio.

Why did I put it off for so long? I was really really missing out!

Like her other books, Landline felt so REAL to me. Rainbow Rowell has a way of writing about life the way life really is. She doesn’t romanticize people, but she doesn’t villainize them either. She has this way of presenting both the good and the bad about life together. Because, somehow, you can’t have one without the other. Georgie loves her husband and he loves her, but they’re still unhappy. The gut-wrenching joy of real, deep love side-by-side with the ache of realizing it isn’t enough. How does she do that?

Rowell also excels at tone. From the very first page I was swept up in the helplessness of an unhappy marriage. Georgie and Neal’s feelings leapt off the page. The nostalgia Georgie felt when reflecting on her college days, the early days of her relationship with Neal, was also tangible.

And it was so nice to read a Rainbow Rowell book about adult situations. I’ve read a lot of luke-warm reviews from young people who couldn’t relate to a difficult marriage because, you know, they aren’t married. But I loved reading about how love isn’t enough. Marriage is work, even if you love your spouse. Being a parent is the most important thing I will ever do, and Landline really made me appreciate how important it is to spend time with my son and to put him first. It helped me understand that things between my husband and I will probably never be the same as it was before my son was born, but that doesn’t mean things can’t be wonderful.

Plus, a time traveling phone!!!!

There are a couple of things I will always want to read about: dragons, magic, aliens, and time travel.

So, yeah, I’m a little bit in love with Landline. I could probably gush about it for hours. See, this is the problem with the library. Now I have to give it back, AND I DON’T WANT TO! I want to keep it here with me where I can read it whenever I want, and look at it whenever I want, and probably hug it all the time. The grey and pink striped spine would look so lovely on my bookshelf.

9 thoughts on “Review: Landline

Leave a Reply

