Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

Hi! A book tag again! *laughs manically*

Hem. I was tagged by Kourtni at Kourtni Reads. I’ve seen this book tag on a couple of other blogs and it’s definitely interesting. Lets see what I can come up with then.

Best Book You’ve Read So Far in 2017

downloadI know this isn’t a 2017 book, and I know I’m like a million years late on this one, but I am just in love with Fangirl. I feel like when Rainbow Rowell wrote Fangirl she was writing just for me. I related to Cath on so many levels: from being the last of your friends to still be fandoming, to dealing with anxiety, to watching your best friend  ignore you for alcohol, to taking care of your parent. So many feels, and such beautiful writing!

Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2017

The_Hammer_of_ThorHonestly, I haven’t really loved any of the sequels I’ve read yet this year… I guess I gave the highest rating to The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan. I’ve been enjoying the Magnus Chase series, and The Hammer of Thor really gave me insight into what it might be like to be gender fluid, something I admit I never really thought about before. You can always count on Uncle Rick to (at the very least) not let you down.

Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year

33606120I am a terrible person, I honestly have no idea. But John at The Last Word Book Review posted a review of A Thousand Paper Birds by Tor Udall last week, and that looks right up my ally, so I guess that. Until tomorrow, when someone else posts about something else…

Biggest Disappointment

51MYplUcdEL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_51CC+o3cfQL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Hands down The Infinite Sea and The Last Star. I was crazy about The 5th Wave, it was so creepy and disturbing and ALIENS! But the sequels were a huge let down for me. I spent most of them confused about what was supposed to be going on, and the suspense took over the creepy atmosphere.

Biggest Surprise

61k33tU1CaLI don’t know what I expected when I bought Catch-22, but it definitely wasn’t what I got. I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised, I knew it was supposed to be funny, and I knew I don’t really understand humor from that era, but it was just so bizarre. I guess I was expecting it to be more jokes and less absurd-ism. *shrugs*

Favorite New Author

13922215I’m about a third of the way through The Bear and the Nightingale, and I think at this point I can safely say it’s Katherine Arden. Beautifully written, and about such a unique subject! I’m really enjoying it.

 

Newest Fictional Crush

I don’t have crushes anymore. I’m married. Besides, I don’t care what y’all say, Chaol and Rowan are both too boring to be crush-worthy.

Newest Favorite Character

Cath from Fangirl. Definitely. Can we be best friends? PLEASE???

Book That Made You Cry

I re-read The Lord of the Rings, does that count?

I’m still looking for a book to make me cry this year. Send some suggestions my way!

Book That Made You Happy

18081809I just finished Landline. Yes, another Rainbow Rowell book. I finished it in one afternoon! I can’t remember the last time I did that! Harry Potter 7, probably. It was just so cute and sweet, and at the end I was literally cheering Georgie on. Great feel-good book.

Favorite Book to Film Adaptation

GztcNdJLvEkI hereby declare that Comic Book adaptations count! Because I have so far only see comic book adaptations this year… And La La Land… I loved Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2. It wasn’t as amazing as the original, but it made me laugh out loud, and the soundtrack was on point. All of my favorite songs.

Favorite Post You’ve Done This Year

One of my very first posts was a Motivation Monday post titled “At least I don’t have to run from the Anduin to Fangorn…” It was fun to write, I loved searching all the silly gifs, and anything LOTR is always a good thing. I also really enjoyed writing WWWHHHYYY, because nothing is more fun to write than a good rant. I got a lot of comments on that one too, which was a bonus.

Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year

Anyone want to send me money so I can buy some books? I’ve literally spent $10 on one book this year and that’s it.

New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To

33289074I’ve been on the wait list at the library for The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo for about two weeks now, and I am just dying waiting! And since library check outs are three weeks, I’m not getting any farther up the wait list! If I don’t get it by the time we visit my dad in mid-July, I’m buying it, budget or no!

What Book Do You Need to Read By the End of the Year?

51zSxGPo+iL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_I definitely want to get to The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell this year. It’s been on my tbr since it was released, and no one ever buys it for me! Also, Caraval looks right up my ally.


I’m nominating:

Obviously you don’t have to! But I hope to see what y’all say.

10 thoughts on “Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. I keep seeing this going around, but never get tagged! Hahaha! (probably because I warned all my blogger friends to stop tagging me. :p It takes so much time to prep these posts. Hahaha!)

    Oh! I wanted to give you a little tip. When you tag people, try to link to one of their actual posts instead of just to their blog. This will notify them that you’ve tagged them. If you link to their main page, they don’t get notified. (WordPress is weird like that. :/ )

    Just gonna selfishly plug again about Calendar Girls. *cough* Actually, I say this because I haven’t read ANY of the books you listed in this post. Literally. None of them. So, I’m betting you read in a different realm from myself (and maybe even Flavia). We could definitely use someone with different reading tastes to help branch out Calendar Girls. *nudge nudge* Hahaha! But no pressure. It’s still up to you and I understand if you don’t want to at this time. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

