Traumatized

I had a bit of an … experience at the library yesterday.

So, my library is teamed up with the libraries from a couple of nearby cities, including the BIG city with like, 10 branches or something. That’s really cool because it means that if MY library doesn’t have a book, one of the other branches might. I can order it to be shipped to my location and picked up at my convenience, or I can go right to their branch and use my library card there. So cool!

giphy.gif

Anyway, my library’s copy of The Marsh King’s Daughter has been checked out for a few weeks, but I don’t want to place a hold because I’m going out of town soon, and if the hold came in when I was gone I wouldn’t be able to pick it up. Someone else might want to read it! So I checked, and sure enough, the BIG library downtown has a copy! Sweet!

In addition, they also have A Study in Scarlet Women, which is on my tbr but my library doesn’t already own. Awesome!

giphy (1)

So yesterday I made a trek downtown to grab those two books and take them on vacation with me. They were both in stock, I had the call number, knew exactly where to find them. What could go wrong?

Everything went wrong.

giphy (2)

Neither book was where it was supposed to be, on a new display shelf. Nor were they in the section where their call number would indicate if they weren’t on a new display. I asked the people at the help desk for help. They were not librarians, simply volunteers who looked in the exact same places I did. I finally convinced one to check to see if it was on a return cart. It wasn’t. As far as I can tell, the books are completely missing.

Honestly, with such popular title, probably the only reason they are checked in is BECAUSE they’re missing. They’ve probably been missing for months.

The good news is, I found two other books on my tbr, although two I’m not quite as excited about. The bad news, this whole experiences has probably ruined me from ever visiting the Central branch again. From now on, libraries got to pay the shipping to bring my books to MY library, because I’m never driving all the way out there for a wild goose chase again.

giphy (3)

14 thoughts on “Traumatized

  1. Wow. This is awful. Wouldn’t it make more sense to state that they don’t have the books so people don’t come running around looking for the books. That makes no sense whatsoever. I’m so sorry you had to deal with this. That’s so frustrating, but I’m glad you found at least something. At least it wasn’t an entirely wasted trip…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ugh, that’s awful. I’m sorry you had to go through that, but I’m glad you found something else in the end. =)

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Breeny! Your blog looks nice. I am pretty new here too, so I might not be the BEST person to ask advice from! But I would suggest getting involved in twitter. A lot of the bloggers I have met I’ve met that way, and that’s an easy place to kind of jump into discussions. There’s lots of pro bloggers there who are always willing to help you out, and even sometimes tweet out your blog posts to their own followers.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

