The TBR Tag

Hello everyone! I am writing this on vacation, but I’ve done such a good job of scheduling posts that by the time you see it I’ll have been back for a couple of days. Note to self, pre-scheduling is good but doesn’t leave much room for flexibility…

Thanks to Krista and Dawlyn at Little Blind Book Finds for tagging me! They are pretty much my favorite duo on the internet, and we basically like all of the same things, so if you’re reading this you should go check them out now!

Also, if you are reading this and saying to yourself “What the heck is ‘tbr’??” don’t you worry for a second! I totally feel you! TBR means to-be-read, and that acronym essentially doesn’t exist outside the book communities online, so there’s no reason you should know it. I’m sad to say it took me a good month into blogging to figure it out.


How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

12825954_503052579897122_1614991515_n(1)I am on goodreads, which is a great place to keep track of the books I want to read, especially since I can’t afford to just go buy them all. However, I do have a dresser in my bedroom with some rather  pretty bookends on top, and I keep any books I’ve purchased but haven’t read yet on there. Which lately has gotten to be pretty small.

Is your TBR mostly print or ebook?

I will read a book however I can get it, so I don’t typically bother specifying on goodreads. However, I don’t read very many ebooks. It gives me a headache, and I tend to forget to charge my tablet.

How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

Um, I guess whatever I feel like. Lately I’ve been trying to alternate between books that have been on there FOREVER and books that I only recently added.

A book that’s been on your TBR the longest.

86821According to goodreads that’s My Antonia by Willa Cather. I bought it off the Barnes and Noble classics shelf when they were buy 2 get 1 free, and I needed a third. It was pretty much the only one I didn’t own that sounded interesting. But apparently not interesting enough to read since I’ve had it for like, four years.

A book that you recently added to your TBR.

21853621My most recent add is The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. I love historical fiction, and stories about sisters always tug at my heartstrings a little bit.

A book on your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover.

31952703I don’t read books ONLY because of a cover. I just don’t. However, I won’t lie, I don’t typically read a book if its cover doesn’t catch my eye. Despite what they say, you can tell quite a lot about a book by its cover. Specifically, who was that book written for. Teens? Romance readers? Sci-Fi readers? So cover design is something I notice, and I will dismiss a book if it has a picture of women in bikinis sitting on a towel under a beach umbrella and big cursivy letters proclaiming a sappy title. That’s just not for me.

Recently Words in the Deep Blue by Cath Crowley has been all over instagram. Even though I can tell its a YA book and I feel like I’ve read enough YA for this year, I just keep coming back to it. So I added it to my TBR. I might never get around to it though.

A book on your TBR that you NEVER plan on actually reading.

16130If I didn’t plan on reading it I would take it off my TBR. That’s just me.

However, if we’re being realistic, I’m adding books to my TBR faster than I’m reading them, so I’ll probably never get to them all. And if I’m being 100% honest, Ron Chernow’s Alexander Hamilton is probably one of those I won’t get to. It’s just so big and intimidating, and I don’t do amazing with non-fiction.

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for.

33606120A Thousand Paper Birds by Tor Udall looks right up my ally! I just hope my library gets it in quick OR my husband’s promotion goes through first so I can afford a monthly book budget!

A book on your TBR that basically everyone has read except you.

22819449Shadow and Bone! I added it to my tbr way back when I first joined goodreads, but then I never got around to it. I think I’ll read that whole series next summer. YA series summer is kind of my thing!

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you.

32075671Mmmmm, doesn’t look like there IS one. However, I added The Hate U Give a few weeks ago because all the book bloggers are including it in their best of the year lists. The Color Project too.

A book on your TBR that your just dying to read.

28588390I finished all the books I’m dying to read in the past couple of weeks, but I’m pretty excited about A Study in Scarlet Women, a Sherlock gender-bender by Sherry Thomas. I got my sights pretty well set on it when I thought I was picking it up from the library. Turned out to be missing, so I didn’t get to read it after all. Frustrating. Needless to say that left me pretty impatient for it.

The number of books on your goodreads TBR shelf.

74. Somehow this number doesn’t seem to be going down, even at a 2+ books a week pace…

At least it’s not going up! This week, anyway.


Tagging:

See you all in a week and a half when this posts! 🙂

18 thoughts on “The TBR Tag

  1. daniellethamasa says:

    Great answers! Is it sad that I’m jealous of the people who have less than 100 books on their Goodreads TBR shelf? I mean I have like 900 on mine! I have a TBR list that I will never finish, even with me reading like 130 books a year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wouldn’t even be able to function with over 100 books on my tbr. I am not very good at making decisions, and too many choices is paralyzing. As it is I still have to give myself parameters to narrow down the choices before I can even get started!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

