My Summer Reading List

IT’S SUMMER VACATION!!!!!!

giphy

Being a teacher is rough, but I have to admit, summer vacation is an awesome perk. Don’t get me wrong, I’m probably going to be doing a lot of work this summer lesson planning and stuff, and I’m taking care of my sweet baby too, but it’s definitely going to be better than getting up early and going to work every day.

My plans for this summer include:

  • Reading
  • Getting back into excercising
  • Reading
  • Zoo trips on Mondays
  • Reading
  • Possible beach trip
  • Did I say reading?

giphy (1)

Last summer I probably read about twenty books. And while I think I’ve got a little more on my plate this summer and won’t quite be able to manage that, I’m really looking forward to what I have coming up.

So, without further ado, MY SUMMER READING LIST. Ta-dah!

giphy (2)


41zqDXuSQEL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_us-spinningsilver11-22-632189360810194157

11/22/63

Currently reading and loving! It’s my first Stephen King novel, and it’s about FREAKING TIME TRAVEL, Y’ALL! Basically, this dude has discovered a time portal to the year 1958, and he’s going to try and stop the Kennedy assassination, along with some other, more personal, tragedies.

Shadow and Bone Series

Every summer I read a young adult series that I feel I’ve neglected, and this year’s pick is Shadow and Bone. I’ve got the first book from the library, and assuming I don’t hate it I’ll reserve the others once I get started. (They were checked out when I visited, pout.) I’ll be honest that I can’t even really remember what it’s about, but people are obsessed with Leigh Bardugo, and it’s been on my tbr for 4 years, so…

The Voyage of the Basilisk

Book 3 in the Memoirs of Lady Trent series, of which I’ve read one each summer for the last two years. It’s like a mash-up of a Victoiran-adventure novel and a dragon fantasy.

Spinning Silver

Waiting for Spinning Silver to come in the mail is like waiting for the grass to grow. WHY IS IT TAKING SO LONG?!?!??! Probably because the release date isn’t for another month and a half…

The Goldfinch

My mom sent this one to me last summer after I expressed an interest. I think it’s about an art heist, but I can’t really remember for sure. What I do know is that it’s LONG.


AAAAAAAAND, if I somehow manage to finish all of that…

71366510761iLLdOq75L

Inkheart

No, I’ve never read this. And don’t you dare make fun of me. It’s for research.

Geekerella

Cinderella plus nerd conventions?! I can’t wait to read this book, but everything else on my tbr has just gotten priority treatment. Maybe someone will buy it for me, then I’ll HAVE to read it. *wink, wink*

The Catcher in the Rye

After watching The Great American Read I’ve got a LONG list of re-reads I need to do. I’d like to start here, because it’s the book I think I’m most likely to change my mind about.


What are you reading this summer?

17 thoughts on “My Summer Reading List

    1. Oh, I will not be going ANYWHERE this summer alone, lol. I’ve always got one or both of my boys with me. But I really like taking them to the zoo. It’s one of our favorite summer activities.

      Like

Leave a comment