Calendar Girls December Wrap-Up

calendar girls december

Oh my, it’s the last day of 2018! We’re wrapping up year two of Calendar Girls! I feel confident in speaking for both myself and Adrienne in saying we’ve had an awesome year with you all! December has been great talking about books set in winter, and I really like the new format for the #CGBchat that we tested this month. I’m really looking forward to seeing what 2019 will bring.

Best Book Set in Winter Picks

Landline – Katie @ Never Not Reading (that’s me!)
No Ordinary Star – Adrienne @ Darque Dreamer Reads
The Shining – Teri Polen
Let it Snow – Deanna @ Deanna Writes About
Witchwood – Flavia @ Flavia the Bibliophile
The Bear and the Nightingale – Dani @ Mousai Books
Wolves of Willoughby Chase – Madam Mim @ Mim Inkling
The Wolves of Winter – Lauren @ Two Birds One Blog
Let the Right One In – Lucinda @ Lucinda is Reading
Shadow and Bone – Lindsey @ Lindsey Reads

Our Favorite Pick is…

25489134

The Bear and the Nightingale won in a landslide! This is really no surprise to me as the sequel, The Girl in the Tower, won last month. If you love books set in winter and you haven’t tried this one out yet, you MUST read it. It’s SO GOOD! Congrats to Dani for picking the winner.

Calendar Girls Book Chat

This month we tried a new format for the book chat. On Monday we asked the first question, and then asked one each day for the rest of the week. I’m very excited about this format because it gives everyone an opportunity to participate, regardless of where they live or a busy schedule. To catch up on the chat (or to go through and answer the questions yourself if you’d like!) you can follow the hashtag #CGBchat or click on the tweets below to see the whole thread.

Calendar Girls January

calendar girls january

The January theme is Happy New Year: Most Anticipated 2019 Release.

I’m soooo excited about this theme! My most anticipated release is so very very VERY anticipated, and I can’t wait to share it with you all just in case it’s not our your radar yet!

Our January schedule is:

  • Monday January 7th- Calendar Girls January Posts (don’t forget to link back to me and Adrienne!)
  • Sunday January 13th – Voting ends for the February theme (you can still vote HERE!)
  • Monday January 14th – Adrienne and I will announce the February theme
  • Monday January 21st – Friday January 25th – #CGBChat
  • Monday January 28th – January Wrap-Up

Thanks again to everyone who participated. I know I say it every month, but I am so thankful for this community and everyone in it. I am beyond excited to be taking Calendar Girls into 2019, and I’m really looking forward to seeing what the new year has in store. Special thanks to everyone who participated in the chat. I had such a good time this month, and I really enjoyed spreading it out through the week like that. Happy New Year everyone! ❤


Featured Image -- 7584

Calendar Girls is a monthly blog event created by Melanie at MNBernard Books, and Flavia at Flavia the Bibliophile, and is now be hosted by me (!), Katie and Adrienne at Darque Dreamer Reads. It is designed to ignite bookish discussions among readers, and was inspired by the 1961 Neil Sedaka song, Calendar Girl.

Just like the song, each month has a different theme. Each blogger picks their favorite book from the theme, and on the first Monday of the month reveals their pick in a Calendar Girls post. Make sure to post back to the hostess’s post, and I will make a master list for the month. The master lists allow everyone to see the other Calendar Girls’ picks and to pop on over to their blogs. Thus, we all get to chat about books and even make some new friends!

Sign up for the Calendar Girls newsletter.

6 thoughts on “Calendar Girls December Wrap-Up

  1. I loved the new chat format, wasn’t as active as I was hoping to be, but I was able to join for parts of it.

    I’m looking forward to what the calendar girls have in store for 2019!

    Like

Leave a comment