Calendar Girls April: Favorite Book You Discovered at a Library

It’s National Library Week this month! (Ironic considering many libraries are completely closed… Hm.) And here at Calendar Girls we are celebrating by sharing our favorite book we discovered at the library!

Oh geez. As a librarian this should be an easy question to answer. But the thing is, I discover most of my books online, THEN go to the library to get them! The last time I found a book just walking around the library and fell in love with it was, well, middle school. Eek!

HOWEVER! Since starting as a full time school librarian in April I found a picture book that I read in maybe 5th grade and had since forgotten about. IT. IS. PERFECT. So if it’s alright with you, this month my pick is going to be a picture book. Okay, here goes.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Animals Should Definitely Not Wear Clothing
Written by Julie Barrett, Illustrated by Ron Barrett

I mean, look at that cover. It says it all! And, dare I say?, it gets EVEN BETTER as you go. I don’t say this often about picture books, but the illustrations really make this one. The narration is nice and cheeky, but the illustrations are laugh-out-loud funny. So here it is, for your viewing pleasure.

Y’all, when I got to the page with the chicken on it, I started laughing so hard I nearly peed my pants. The teachers walking through must have thought I was loosing my mind. While I know this reader was a little dull, I hope you still enjoyed it as much as I did.

Thanks for Dani, Flavia, and Adrienne for hosting! I hope everyone is staying home and staying healthy. ❤


Calendar Girls is a monthly blog event created by Melanie @ MNBernard Books, and Flavia @ Flavia the Bibliophile, and is now be hosted by Flavia, Adrienne @ Darque Dreamer Reads, and Dani @ Mousai Books. It is designed to ignite bookish discussions among readers, and was inspired by the 1961 Neil Sedaka song, Calendar Girl.

Just like the song, each month has a different theme. Each blogger picks their favorite book from the theme, and on the first Monday of the month reveals their pick in a Calendar Girls post. Make sure to post back to the hostess’s post, and I will make a master list for the month. The master lists allow everyone to see the other Calendar Girls’ picks and to pop on over to their blogs. Thus, we all get to chat about books and even make some new friends!

10 thoughts on “Calendar Girls April: Favorite Book You Discovered at a Library

Leave a comment