This or That Book Tag

A little over a month ago Krisha from Krisha’s Cozy Corner tagged me in the This or That Book Tag. I’ve seen plenty of variations of this tag, and I *think* participated in one before (though I couldn’t find it). But I really like the prompts in this particular version, which are more interesting than “Paperback or Harback?” and “Bookmark or Dog-Ear”. Snooze. These are much more fun!

Okay, here we go!

Read on the bed or the couch?

Honestly, I do both of these. But reading on the bed isn’t my favorite because my pillow is AWFUL and doesn’t give my back enough support. So if given the choice I’ll *usually* choose the couch. It’s only once the sun goes down and our lighting gets bad that I’ll move to the bed.

Read at night or in the morning?

As a teacher-librarian and mom I do NOT have time to read in the morning. I have to be at school at 7:30, which means out of the house by 7:00 so I have time to drop everyone off. Which means getting the kids out of bed at 6:45 at the LATEST. Which means no effing way do I have time for a book in the morning. I do most of my reading in the evening. 🙂

Sweet snacks or salty snacks when you’re reading?

I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, so I’m much more likely to be found munching on salty snacks. Popcorn is my go-to reading snack, but I will never say no to some Doritos!

Male main character or female main character?

I don’t really care, as long as I like the character I’m good. But I definitely read more books with female main characters, probably because I read a lot more books by female authors.

First person POV or third person POV?

Or second! Just saying, I’ve read two this year.

Again, this isn’t something I really have a preference on, as long as it’s done well I’m happy. I notice that first person POV isn’t super common these days, though, so I easily read most third person POV books. But I’d love to see more first person get attention!

Trilogies or quartets?

I’ve … never read a quartet? IMO trilogies are the best format for a series, but since I usually only read the first book anyway I’m not sure I should really be pushing that opinion too hard, lol.

Libraries or bookstore?

I enjoy a happy medium here. Typically I read all my books from the library FIRST, then I go to the bookstore to buy the ones I really like! The library is seriously the best, and I’ve read SO MANY library books in the last few years. If you aren’t going to the library you should go support them. The more regular users they have the easier it is for them to justify funding and offering much needed services to the community!

Books that make you laugh or cry?

My favorite books are invariably books that manage to do both. But if a book manages to make me cry (I’m looking at YOU Bel Canto!) it means that I’ve connected with it on a DEEP level that’s bound to be a five-star book. It’s much easier to make me laugh than it is to make me cry. Unless you’re a middle grade author, apparently, then I will cry at literally ANYTHING.

Black book covers or white book covers?

I’m not sure if this refers to the actual cover or the dust jacket? But I wrote a post last week about how ALL of my books this year have black cover art, and they are all GORGEOUS. And, of course, black is probably the solid cover on most of my hardbacks under the jacket. So apparently black. I’m not going to lie though, a good white cover is *chef’s kiss*

Character driven or plot driven?

I enjoy a good plot driven book, but I LOVE a good character driven book. Characters 100% make or break a book for me, so I would choose a book with great characters over a book with great plot any day. But, like, the plot should still EXIST and be interesting… just saying.


I tag:

Sorry if I tagged anyone more than once lately. Honestly, this is my least favorite thing about tags and it gives me anxiety, lol.

17 thoughts on “This or That Book Tag

  1. Books that can make me laugh and cry are just *chef’s kiss*, but books that can make me cry twice? They’re on a whole other level.

    On another note, I’ve started Chilling Effect! I’m really enjoying it so far, Eva is such a sassy protagonist and Vakar is so cute! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for doing this ! I loved reading this post…..and I can’t agree about character driven and plot driven ! For me, if I don’t like the characters, I’m almost 99.999% sure I won’t enjoy the novel, even if the plot is amazing and cool. And wo dosen’t like eating popcorn while reading a book but I am always scared of spilling food on the book

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the tag!

    I love the idea of being a sofa reader rather than a bed reader but whenever I try one of my various housemates always sees it as me inviting them to sit down and talk to me. I’m like whyyyyy does me reading signal that to people?!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “I usually only read the first book anyway I’m not sure I should really be pushing that opinion too hard” 😂 I relate to this 😂 I mean, if I had to choose, I’d pick trilogies for sure because otherwise it’s too large of a commitment, but in the end I more often than not read the first book, then promptly forget that it was a series and read other things and… 😂 this is terrible ahah. and yeees, characters make or break a book for me, too, for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For me it’s not that I lose interest, it’s just that a series can never seem to persist in quality all the way through! I’m sure there are some great long series out there, but most of the time it seems like authors run out of things to say.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment