Real Neat Blog Award

real-neat-blog-award

Thanks so much to Norkio at Diary of a Book Fiend for nominating me for the Real Neat Blog award! There’s something especially cool about being recognized for being “real neat”! I’ve always considered myself sort of neat, if I do say so myself.

If you haven’t visited Diary of a Book Fiend, head on over there and check her out. Her blogs very pretty, and has some interesting content besides. (Heads up, she will probably try to convince you to read Pillars of the Earth. You’ve been warned!)

Rules

  • Display the award logo on your blog
  • Thank the folks who nominated you and provide links to their blogs
  • Answer the 7 questions asked by your nominator(s)
  • Nominate any number of other bloggers to share the award and give them some linky love
  • Notify the nominated folk
  • Ask the nominees 7 questions of your own

Noriko’s Questions

  1. Are you an introvert or an extrovert?
    I’ve mentioned before on my blog that I consider myself a centrovert. When I took the OFFICIAL Myers Briggs my E/I score was like, 18/22. I’m extroverted in that I think best out loud (or on paper!), but I’m introverted in that I like some alone time at the end of a long day.
  2. How long have you been blogging?
    I’ve only been book blogging about 2 1/2 months. Why I didn’t start doing it sooner, I don’t really know. However, I’ve had several other blogs in the past.
  3. What do you  love most about blogging?
    My favorite thing about book blogging has been exactly what I hoped it would be: making friends who love books and want to talk about them. My family and friends aren’t the most avid readers, and they don’t really like the same kind of books that I do when they do read. It gets pretty lonely reading all these books every year and having nobody to talk to about them! It’s been so excellent having the chance to finally TALK. I’m super excited about jointing the Calendar Girls read-along for August (My Lady Jane, info HERE if you’re interested!) because it’s kind of like being in a book club! Only I don’t have to go to someone’s house and feel awkward when I don’t know half the people and am the only one not drinking.
    giphy (15)
  4. Who is your favorite author?
    That’s just an obscenely hard question. My favorite BOOK is The Lord of the Rings, so I suppose in some ways Tolkien is my favorite author. But I just ADORE about four of Jane Austen’s novels, so maybe its her. On the other hand, not saying J.K. Rowling seems insulting to the fandom I’ve so lovingly belonged to since the year 2000.
  5. What keeps you from attaining goals?
    Um, nothing? If anything, possibly having too many goals. But I’m a completionist, y’all. I don’t not complete goals. That would be like not checking off everything on your checklist.
    giphy (14)
  6. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
    Hopefully still book blogging! In five years my son will be 7 (yikes!!!) and my (hopefully soon!!!) second child will be getting close to kindergarten. So I see myself reading in the car at soccer practice, mostly! Haha. But seriously, I’m hoping to be working in the school district I’m living in so I can be close to my kids, not commuting an hour each way.
  7. What quality do you look for in a friend? What about them attracts you the most?
    This is going to sound ridiculous, but friendship. I can be friends with pretty much anyone, whether we’re interested in the same things or not. But so many of my friends in the past just, haven’t cared enough to stay friends when we didn’t live down the street anymore. And honestly, I probably didn’t care enough either. It takes a special kind of friend to keep calling even when you haven’t seen each other in a while, or even when you can’t do anything because you have to stay home with your kid.

People I Think are Real Neat

My Questions for Them

  1. What do you love most about blogging?
  2. Why did you start blogging in the first place?
  3. Do you have a favorite genre?
  4. What is your favorite book you’ve read so far this year, and what did you love about it?
  5. Favorite and least favorite slang word of the 2010s. (Hint, “neat” is not from the 2010s.)
  6. Which kind of apocolypse do you most enjoy reading/watching/thinking about?
  7. What about a blog makes you follow?

Thanks again to Noriko for my nomination! I’m still basking in my neat glory.

giphy (3)

21 thoughts on “Real Neat Blog Award

  1. Congratulations! And great answers! Nope, I won’t push others to reading The Pillars of the Earth, I just can’t help gushing about it! lol (*smirk*)
    It’s quite amazing that you’ve only been blogging for 2 1/2 months… I thought you have been blogging longer!! But yes, having someone you get to gush about books feels sooo fantastic!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It seems like I’ve been blogging longer because I HAVE been reviewing for a lot longer. I’ve been writing goodreads reviews for almost three years. So I’ve been posting a lot of reviews that I wrote in 2015 and 2016. That’s why I have so much content.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats, Katie! 😀 This is really awesome and thank you for nominating me.

    I find it interesting that you’re a centrovert. I’ve never really thought much about the idea of a middle ground, but I do think there are different levels of extroverts and introverts. 🙂

    You’ve only been blogging for 2.5 months?! Aww! You’re still such a baby in the blog-o-sphere! 😀 Don’t worry. It truly flies by. I can’t believe how long I’ve been blogging for and how much my blog has changed over time. It’s crazy!

    Hahahaha! I’m totally part of the HP fandom, but I would never consider JKR my favorite author. Honestly, I don’t like her writing style. :p But oh well! You can love a fandom without loving the author because the fandom is about the people. 😀

    Aww! Your past friendships sound a lot like mine, Katie. It’s hard to put in effort for a friendship when the other person doesn’t reciprocate. :/ A shame, but I’d rather find people who will think of me and send me messages every once in a while. 🙂 That’s what true friendship is, in my opinion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, my past friendships got rough. I felt like I was the only person putting any effort into them, but the other person was criticizing me for not being a good friend. Eventually you just have to let those people go. It doesn’t hurt any less for being the right thing.

      But honestly, there have definitely been times where I wasn’t the best friend either. I just have a hard time making time for people when I’m barely willing to make time for myself.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awww! Why aren’t you taking time for yourself, Katie? That’s very important.

        And I totally understand. Making that decision to drop some of the negativity in your life is still hard to swallow at the time because you still enjoy their company. But it’s a lot less taxing in the future. I’m completely understand.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I just feel like there’s too much to do and not enough time in the day, you know? I work, and I want to spend time with my family, and I want to read, and I want to exercise, and I want to read my Bible and pray, and I want to spend time with my friends, and I just can’t fit it all into 24 hours! So when sacrifices get made, my friends get cut first and me-time gets cut second.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Awww! I’m sorry to hear that, Katie. I have to say, I am quite thankful none of my friends live within 1.5 hours of me. I get all the me time I want. Hahahaha! And I schedule my family time once a week. (we’re a weird family. :p ) But I’m also not married or have a kid or anything. So… there’s that extra free time I got.

            Oh… the gym. Um… I’m working on that one. BAHAHAHA!

            But all in all, I feel you. There is never enough time in the day. I swear I spend 6-9 hours at work depending on the day and then I come home and spend another 1-2 hours working on my blog. *sigh* If only I got paid for this. HAHAHA! That would be the dream. :p

            Liked by 1 person

          2. BAHAHAHAHAHA! TRUTH! There would never be enough time in the day and, I mean, time is technically fictional. It doesn’t exist. It’s just something we created to better understand the world around us. So I mean… your version of time could have 39 hours in a day. 😉 *may have left my brain at work*

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment