Hogwarts Tag

I know this may come as a bit of a shock, but I love Harry Potter. *GASP!!!*

giphy

Like, seriously.

giphy (1)

Okay, so I played Pottermore consistently, every single day, for two years. I’m really into Harry Potter.

So when The Orangutan Librarian tagged me on this one I pretty much freaked out and left several all-caps comments in a row. My silent fangirling puts the gifs of the internet to shame. I mean, just LOOK at my grammar! It’s fallen all into disarray because I am so freaking exciting about the Hogwarts Tag.

giphy (2)

P.S. If anyone wants to pay my way to the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, I would love you for the rest of eternity.


Am I a pureblood, half-blood, or muggle born?

Well, my mom’s read and enjoyed all of the Harry Potter books, but my dad’s just like, what is this? So I guess I’m a half-blood.

Which wand chose me?

pottermore wand

Cypress wood, Phoenix feather core, 10 3/4 inches, hard flexibility.

Evidently cypress wood chooses witches and wizards of nobility, the brave, bold, and self-sacrificing, and those unafraid to address the dark side of themselves. Yeah, that’s totally me. (Not.)

Phoenix feather cores are the rarest cores. They are hard to win over, but once you do have the most versatility. Good. I like a challenge.

My wand is short because I’m short. It’s not flexible because I’m stubborn. lol

Did I take an owl, cat, rat, or toad with me?

An owl sounds cool, but I couldn’t pass up a cat. I don’t know if I would have made the same decision at age 11, but I love my kitty so much! Cats are such good companions, and they make me feel warm and squishy inside. Plus, I’m sure Hogwarts could do with fewer mice.

Where did  the sorting hat put me?

ravenclaw1

Wit beyond measure is man’s greatest treasure.

What house did I want to be in?

Um, I’m a book blogger. And a teacher. What house do you think I wanted to be in?

What lessons are my favorite and least favorite?

Favorites:

  • Charms (because this is the kind of magic everyone wants to learn!)
  • Transfiguration (SO COOL! Plus challenging. I like.)
  • Care of Magical Creatures (I could have been a zoologist. Sometimes I regret my life choices.)
  • History of Magic (but only if taught by someone other than Binns. Seriously, history is FASCINATING! How do they keep on somebody who literally puts even Hermione to sleep??)
  • Muggle Studies (I don’t know, this one just seems interesting to me, to learn about how muggles and wizards get one together.)
  • Astronomy (Heck, I loved this class at muggle university! The universe is such a beautiful and interesting place!)

Least Favorites:

  • Potions (If it’s anything like cooking or chemistry, I can tell you with 100% certainty that I will hate it, be messy, and not even a little successful.)
  • Herbology (I have a black thumb. 😦 I like the idea of this class, but in practice I would probably be pretty miserable.)
  • Ancient Runes (I am so terrible at languages. On the bright side, I probably wouldn’t have even signed up for this one!)
  • Divination (Even if Hogwarts were real, I STILL wouldn’t believe in that load of crap. Again, wouldn’t have even signed up!)

The form my patronus takes:

That depends who you ask. According to Pottermore it’s a West Highland Terrier. Seriously, a WESTIE? I don’t even like little dogs! Give me a Great Dane any day!

But a bazillion years ago before Pottermore existed, my husband (then boyfriend) and I found a REALLY good online quiz about your American Indian Spirit Animal. I figured that was close enough to patronus, and as I said, the quiz was very good. So since then I’ve always considered my patronus to be a beaver.

beaver

The thing with patronuses though, is you would never really know until you conjure it. A  lot of times they take on the form of something very personal from your subconscious. That’s why I’ve never been much of a fan of patronus quizzes.

What does a boggart look like to me?

Like Ron, I am absolutely terrified of spiders. Unlike Ron, dead spiders pretty much freak me out too. Hands down, no question, my boggart would be Shelob. Or Aragog. Probably my patronus would be Shelob AND Aragog together.

Do I partake in any magical hobbies or school sports?

tumblr_neel61JRAm1u2y4nvo1_1280In the movies (in ONE movie, the worst one) Hogwarts has a choir. I am, in real life, such a big band nerd that I majored in band directing. If Hogwarts had any kind of musical activities, I would have been there. If they didn’t, I probably would have started one. Maybe a Weird Sisters fan club. (More likely a Celestina Warbeck fan club, if we’re being completely honest here.)

Where would I find myself hanging in my free time?

Ravenclaw_common_roomBack in High School I was the kind of kid who was just kind of everywhere with my friends. Not like Fred and George or anything, but everywhere we were supposed to be. Always moving from someone’s house to someone else’s, to whatever restaurant, to hanging out at school. So I guess everywhere. But the Ravenclaw common room would be such an awesome place to hang out with my Ravenclaw friends. And our dorms, chatting about boys while laying on our beds, staring at the top of our four posters.

What would I most likely get detention for?

Snitch, please. I’ve never been in detention in my whole life. I’m even more of a teacher’s pet than Hermione.

What career do I want after leaving Hogwarts?

There are two careers I would be hard pressed to choose between. I think it would be really cool to research and develop new spells. Like, how does that even work? I MUST know! I would also adore apprenticing with Ollivander and making wands. I don’t know, there’s just something so cool about being the person making that beautiful little piece of wood that is going to change some kid’s life!

OllivandersShopFront.png

But I don’t think Ollivander really takes apprentices, so probably the other one.


Back when I was first tagged for this I asked twitter which book bloggers love Harry Potter. What I didn’t tell them was that if they liked my post I was tagging them. Mwah ha ha haaaaaaa!!!!!!

15 thoughts on “Hogwarts Tag

  1. I must say this is an awesome post. kept me smiling the whole way. I don’t know how I’m going to beat it haha! No, honestly Harry Potter is cool, but which do you prefer – Books vs Films? I’m a film lover but I don’t mind a reread of them all once a decade (as the films miss so much out!)
    Much Love!! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!

      I personally never liked the movies very much, except for the first two. If they’re on I won’t turn them off, but I definitely don’t go out of my way to watch them. But the books, now I re-read the books … frequently. lol

      Like

  2. This looks like such an awesome tag to do!

    Completely get your Pottermore-past by the way. Even though with me it wasn’t Pottermore but a site in my native language where I actually put together lessons for Potions and Ancient Runes, haha.

    Gryffindor all the way! Even though some friends sometimes say I’m half Slytherin – I like my mean comments sometimes, sorry.. – and the last time I took the test it said Ravenclaw. But, no way! Once Gryffindor, always Gryffindor!
    [Imagine having to replace all your house-merch..]

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha, that’s why I’ve never taken the test a second time. You always second-guess your answers and it skews the data. Like, ALWAYS. I don’t know anyone who re-took it and got the same house. Plus, you have to understand that it’s an online quiz, NOT a sorting hat. You know yourself better than Pottermore does. Do you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I tried not to second-guess any of them. Just answer truthfully. In a way it does hurt when Gryffindor never pops up anymore though! xD

        Fact remains that I took it the first time when I was 12 or something… Pretty sure it isn’t that weird that you change along the years. And people who know me often say I should be in Ravenclaw. Surprised they’re still alive after the glare I gave them after those comments, haha!

        Like

  3. hehhe I love that siriusly pun!!! Pottermore is so so much fun!!! I was obsessed, though not so much with the spells- I may or may not have made *everyone* I knew take the Hogwarts quizzes. I didn’t even tell them what I was doing I just went round asking people questions and then shouted “Gryffindor/Ravenclaw etc!” at them… much to my mum’s bemusement 😉 (she’s not as cool as your mum- she hasn’t read the books). Woohoo ravenclaw buddies!! I agree with you about history- and to be honest everyone’s had a lousy history teacher, but fortunately you can always sit there reading the textbook if they’re boring 😉 I agree with all least fave subjects as well. Loved what you said about patronuses- beavers are so cute!! And I think deep down you know what your patronus is regardless of quizzes. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

