Calendar Girls October Wrap-Up

calendar girls october

Sadly, October is already over. My favorite month, gone. *weeping* But on the bright side, the end of October means…

HALLOWEEN!!!! I’ve been waiting for 363 days, and it is ALMOST HERE. You guys, this is not a drill.

This October we had a great month talking about witches of all shapes and sizes. If there’s any one single thing I’ve taken away from this month it’s that I need to read more books with witches in them. Like, asap. I hope you guys, like me, got some great ideas for your TBR!

Best Books with Witches Picks:

The Golden Compass – Katie @ Never Not Reading (that’s ME!)
Undead Girl Gang – Adrienne @ Darque Dreamer Reads
The Crucible – Deanna @ Deanna Writes About
Balefire – Bird on a Shelf
The Wicked Deep – Samantha @ Modern Witch’s Bookshelf
The Worst Witch – Lucinda @ Lucinda is Reading
The Night Circus – Dani @ Mousai Books
Hex Hall – Sophie @ Beware of the Reader
Toil & Trouble – Flavia @ Flavia the Bibliophile
The Witching Hour – Jennifer @ Jennifer Reads

Our Favorite Pick is…

A1DcwxGrlKLSeeing as how Undead Girl Gang is getting a lot of buzz, I’m not surprised it was our winner! I am definitely going to have to read this one next Halloween! It sounds like exactly the kind of book I enjoy reading in October. 🙂 Congrats Adrienne on picking the most awesome book this month!

Calendar Girls Book Chat

On Sunday October 21 the Calendar Girls got together on twitter to talk about some of the things that make books set in school so relatable. As always you can check out the entire chat by searching the hashtag #CGBChat, or by following the links to the threads below.

 

 

 

 


Looking to November

calendar girls november

The November theme is Not Quite The End: Favorite Middle Book in a Series.

This should be an interesting month, because I know book bloggers are notorious for not finishing series! Or maybe that’s just me… lol. There’s so many great books to choose from, I’m not sure how I’m going to pick. I can’t wait to see what series everyone loves the most!

Our November schedule is:

  • Monday November 5th – Calendar Girls November Posts (don’t forget to link back to me and Adrienne!)
  • Sunday November 11th – Voting ends for the December theme (you can still vote HERE!)
  • Monday November 12th – Adrienne and I will announce the December theme
  • Sunday November 16th – #CGBChat at 8 EST
  • Monday November 26th – November Wrap-Up

Thanks again to everyone who participated! I am still just so excited that Calendar Girls is back, it’s my favorite part of every month. Thanks to Adrienne for being an amazing co-host, and for taking care of the newsletter and making it look TOTALLY amazing. ❤


Imprimir

Calendar Girls is a monthly blog event created by Melanie at MNBernard Books, and Flavia at Flavia the Bibliophile, and is now be hosted by me (!), Katie and Adrienne at Darque Dreamer Reads. It is designed to ignite bookish discussions among readers, and was inspired by the 1961 Neil Sedaka song, Calendar Girl.

Just like the song, each month has a different theme. Each blogger picks their favorite book from the theme, and on the first Monday of the month reveals their pick in a Calendar Girls post. Make sure to post back to the hostess’s post, and I will make a master list for the month. The master lists allow everyone to see the other Calendar Girls’ picks and to pop on over to their blogs. Thus, we all get to chat about books and even make some new friends!

Sign up for the Calendar Girls newsletter.

8 thoughts on “Calendar Girls October Wrap-Up

Leave a comment