Calendar Girls September: Favorite Book About Pirates

So at first I was sooooooo excited about this theme because I freaking love pirates. Then I got worried because I didn’t think I’d read any books that were about pirates, I’d maybe just seen movies? I had a bit of a crisis, honestly. Then I took a deep breath and remembered that I’ve read Treasure Island more than once. After that, I remembered a couple of others. So. Whew.

But the thing is, I’m looking through the list of books I’ve read, and other than Treasure Island none of them are actually *about* pirates. The best example that I can come up with here is The Princess Bride, which I’ve read and loved more than once. Obviously, Westley becomes the Dread Pirate Roberts, and Westley is an important part of the book. But nobody would say the book is about pirates. Another great example is Beauty Queens by Libba Bray. Pirates make an appearance, but it’s definitely about beauty queens stuck on a desert island.

This is obviously a travesty, and I’m very much looking forward to getting some suggestions.

So, anticlimactically, I’ve already shared with you the book that, I guess, is my pick.

Treasure Island
by Robert Lewis Stevenson

Robert Lewis Stevenson is mainly known these days for his romantic adventure novels. (Romantic as in the era, not love-y dove-y.) The best known are Treasure Island and The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, which have both become so mainstreamed into our culture that you probably don’t even realize all the ways you know them. Treasure Island is still a fun, extremely relevant novel, and is surprisingly kid-friendly. However, much of the plot is given away by popular culture. For example, it’s supposed to be a big surprise when Long John Silver is a pirate. *eye roll*

Hope some of you have better answers than me. 🙂

Pirate’s Life for Me
Favorite Book About Pirates

Our Picks

Treasure Island – Katie (that’s me!) @ Never Not Reading
Daughter of the Pirate King – Adrienne @ Darque Dreamer Reads
Seafire – Liz @ Stellar Kitten Book Reviews
The Princess Bride – Dani @ Mousai Books
These Rebel Waves – Flavia @ Flavia the Bibliophile


This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is katie-and-adrienne1.jpg
Write caption…

Calendar Girls is a monthly blog event created by Melanie at MNBernard Books, and Flavia at Flavia the Bibliophile, and is now be hosted by me (!), Katie, and Adrienne at Darque Dreamer Reads. It is designed to ignite bookish discussions among readers, and was inspired by the 1961 Neil Sedaka song, Calendar Girl.

Just like the song, each month has a different theme. Each blogger picks their favorite book from the theme, and on the first Monday of the month reveals their pick in a Calendar Girls post. Make sure to post back to the hostess’s post, and I will make a master list for the month. The master lists allow everyone to see the other Calendar Girls’ picks and to pop on over to their blogs. Thus, we all get to chat about books and even make some new friends!

15 thoughts on “Calendar Girls September: Favorite Book About Pirates

Leave a comment