The New Disney Princess Book Tag

6026359366_2fefa04392_b.jpg

I saw this book tag on Flavia the Bibliophile, and even though I wasn’t tagged I just had to join in! I’ve really enjoyed the last couple of book tags I’ve done, and I am obsessed with Disney Princesses. Am I also procrastinating on starting a book that’s been on my tbr for way too long because I secretly don’t really want to read it? Maybe.

Rules:

  • Mention where you saw the tag/thank whoevver tagged you.
  • Tag Zuky’s and Mandy’s posts so they can check out the wonderful Princess fun throughout the blog world (Mandy @ Book Princess Reviews & Zuky @ Book Bum)
  • Play a game of tag at the end!

Snow White

The Book (like the movie) That Started It All
Favorite Debut Book From an Author

51GfkFJuPCL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Mmmmm, so hard to pick, but probably The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I mean, it’s just one of my favorite books period. It’s so romantic and dreamlike. I wish Le Cirque des Rêves was a real place.

Cinderella

A Diamond in the Rough
Just like Cinderella, you either didn’t expect much out of this character in the beginning, but they turned out to be a total gem.

136116That would have to be Sir Percy from The Scarlet PimpernelAt the beginning of the book he is just portrayed as this foppish dandy without half a brain. His wife, Margaret, sure thinks of him that way. But as the book goes on and you get to know him you find out that there is so much more to him, and Margaret (and I!) fall deeply in love with him. Ohmygosh, The Scarlet Pimpernel is one of my all-time favorites.

Aurora

A book that makes you sleep or just could not hold your attention.

downloadI really really tried to read A Tale of Two CitiesI promise I did. It sounds like a really cool plot, all my friends in high school loved it, and it’s not nearly as long as the other Dickens novels. But halfway through I realized I had no idea who any of the characters were, that was how bored I was. I quit.

Ariel

Under the Sea
A book with a water/ocean setting

o-WHERED-YOU-GO-BERNADETTE-MOVIE-facebookI don’t know if Where’d You Go Bernadette should really count here, because they’re only on their Antarctic cruise for such a short section of the book, but it’s too amazing to not shout it out here! Anyway, Bernadette’s mental breakdown happens as a result of the cruise, so I say it counts. Such a hilarious book. If you haven’t read it, you should.

Belle

Beauty and the Books
Name a book with the best bookworm/book lover

b743d4a15a201da0d4f18209acbe06f8Hermione Granger, definitely Hermione. I wish I could be her best friend.

Jasmine

The Thief and the Princess
Name a book with an unlikely love story (either in terms of romance or a book you didn’t expect to love so much)

51vPXr7ganL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_I really enjoyed Major Pettigrew’s Last StandIt was so charming, and the whole book is rather unexpected. The premise is that elderly respected Major Pettigrew falls in love with the least likely person, shopkeeper Mrs. Ali. They have almost nothing in common, but they are kindred spirits.

Pocahontas

The Real Life Princess
Name a book that is based on a real life person you want to read/have read

20121214-092551-pic-597986943As some of you know, several years ago I read and loved a book called Mrs. Queen Takes the TrainIt is based on Queen Elizabeth II, and was adorable, silly, and sweet. I have always had a little bit of a fascination with British royalty, and this was a fun take on the reigning monarch.

Mulan

The Princess that Saved Her Country
Name the Fiercest Heroine You Know

Eowyn. Definitely Eowyn.

giphy

Most people probably wouldn’t think of Tolkien as a feminist. I doubt he would! But keep in mind he was writing about a middle-age society that thought of women as homemakers and mothers, people to be protected. Yet we have this woman who has grown tired of being a caretaker to her elderly grandfather, and envies the men who get to ride off to war. When her only opportunity to win valor vicariously through a husband passes her by, she takes matters into her own hands and rides to war. THEN she takes down a foe so deadly that not even freaking GANDALF could defeat him. AH! She is my favorite!

Tiana

The Princess With the Coolest and Most Diverse Crew
Name a diverse book, whether it is a diverse set of characters (like Tiana’s group of Naveen, Louis, Ray, and more) or just diverse in general

capa_109501_1356716888Um? I guess Percy Jackson in the Heroes of Olympus series? I read a lot of older books, so I guess this is the best I’ve got. Let’s see. There’s Piper who’s American Indian, Frank who’s Chinese, Leo who’s Hispanic, Hazel who is African-American (Cajun?), and Nico who’s gay. Actually, the Magnus Chase series has had a lot of diversity in it too. Rick Riordan is really going out of his way to make that happen for young readers.

Rapunzel

Let Your Longgggggg Hair Down
Name the longest book you’ve ever read

LordoftheRings001Definitely The Lord of the RingsI mean, without the appendix it’s still over 1000 pages long. And I’ve read a good chunk of the appendix.

Merida

I Determine My Own Fate
A book where there is no love story/interest or isn’t needed

51n8BHFovdL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Ender’s Game is a great example of that. I mean, yeah, they’re KIDS, so that’s part of the reason, but also the book just didn’t need it. I hate when Sci-Fi books especially get off track because they’re adding some romance. Just focus on the reason we’re here!

Anna & Elsa

Frozen Hearts
A book in a winter/cold setting

18081809I just finished Landline by Rainbow Rowell yesterday, and I didn’t realize it was a Chrristmas time book until I started reading. I guess I should have, it’s right there in the synopsis… Anway, LOVED IT!

Moana

How Far I’ll Go
A character that goes on a journey

Let’s see, I’ve already used The Lord of the Rings twice, so lets think of something else. lol

12974372A Natural History of Dragons, a quirky fantasy, sends its main character, Lady Trent, off to foreign lands to discover how dragons behave in their natural habitat. It’s not a journey that a woman aught to be making, but she convinces her husband she will never be happy if she leaves the research to the men. Sure enough, it is not safe for her to go, but through a lot of pluck she gets through it, even if not unscathed.


Alright! I’m tagging:

Have fun!

17 thoughts on “The New Disney Princess Book Tag

    1. No, I haven’t! Honestly, I thought only the second had been published, and I was waiting for the rest to come out so I could binge them. I guess they are binge-ready, oops! Adding to my tbr now.
      Have you? Are they equally entertaining?

      Like

      1. I’m sorry to say that I haven’t read them either, but the premise and the title promises a super book. If you finish the series and do a review, please reply the link to this comment!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Yaaaay I’m so glad you did this tag even though I hadn’t tagged you! Wish I’d known to tag you and now I feel bad 😦

    But anyway, I love the picture you posted at the top, it’s so pretty. Also your choices AH! I can’t believe I didn’t think of Eowyn! I effing love Eowyn. Haha. And I’m sad that A Tale of Two Cities bored you! Haha, it’s my favourite Dickens novel! But I understand how it might not be everyone’s cup of tea 🙂

    Great post! May have to add some of these to my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANKS!

      Psht, you can’t tag everyone, can you? Besides, I’m so new here, I would have been shocked.

      The Designer Princesses are my favorite! Before we found out my son was going to be a boy I was 100% planning on decorating the nursery with designer princesses.

      Yeah, I really WANTED to like A Tale of Two Cities. I may give it another go someday though, because I love the idea of it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve never heard of The Designer Princesses! What is this magic? And awe definitely give it another try! One of my fave characters is in there 😉 hehehe I wrote one of my Master’s papers on him lmao

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Um, I think they were designed by Disney in preparation for dolls to be made? There may have actually BEEN dolls? I’m not honestly sure, I found them on accident like, 4 years ago or something.

          Like

Leave a comment